Home > 60s soul, 70s Soul, Mix CD-Rs > Any Major Protest Soul Vol. 2

Any Major Protest Soul Vol. 2

The first Protest Soul mix, posted to coincide with the inauguration of Honest Donald in January, seems to have been quite popular. More than that, I hope it brought some kind of relief from the anguish of seeing that sphinctermouthed spluttermachine being heaved into the presidency — and seeing him wreaking his revenge on common decency without having received a clear mandate.

More should be made of this: Trump lost the popular vote, so his mandate is not unambiguous. He won the presidency legitimately, and therefore occupies his office and nominally exercises its authority legitimately — but his mandate is tainted by having been invested in him against the will of the people. So when he drains the swamp and fills it with sewerage, he is doing so without a clear mandate. The question, again and again and again, should be: “What mandate do you have to do what you do without a majority of the popular vote?” Trump has no answer to that; he knows his mandate is mandate is tainted. That’s why he lies about the supposed voter fraud. So say it loud and say it clear: “President Trump, on whose mandate are you acting?”

But this mix is not about Sphinctermouth. I’m posting it to coincide with the 49th anniversary of the assassination of the Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. The songs here were released in a range of within a year of MLK’s murder to eight years after.

As with the first mix, this is collection of soul songs that make an appeal for social justice, for racial equality and harmony, for black consciousness, or for political activism — some deal with one or two of these issues, some with all of them. There is no party-line, and the sentiments of some songs may clash with those of others. Together, they reflect a conversation in the black politics of the time, even if not comprehensively so — the Black Panthers don’t have an equal voice. These mixes are good companion pieces to the Songs About The Ghetto Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 mixes.

Some of the artists here are well-known for having articulated voices in that conversation — Gil Scott-Heron, Curtis Mayfield, Staple Singers, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye (featuring here with a performance from 1973’s Save The Children concert) — but one who is not widely-known is Bama The Village Poet. Seek out his songs — one, the astonishing I Got Soul, featured on the Bernard Purdie Collection Vol. 1.

As far as I know, his 1972 Ghettoes Of The Mind album on Chess was his only release. It featured Purdie on drums, Richard Tee on keyboards, Gordon Edwards on bass and Cornell Dupree on guitar. All I know of him is that he was born as George McCord in Birmingham, Alabama (hence, I suspect, the name Bama). Bama’s incisive poetry deals with issues that remain relevant today, but even if one doesn’t dig the black consciousness vibe, the music is magnificent.

I”m adding a bonus track, a funky and much-sampled groove from 1973 by The Honey Drippers who are calling to “Impeach The President”. I”d love to see Trump impeached and, if there is justice, jailed for whatever huckster stuff it is that will get him impeached. But as a pragmatist, I’m not so sure that it is such as good idea. Mike Pence is pretty bad news in his own right. Impeach them both — and clear out the Democratic Party of their lobbyist-beholden, strategy-bereft, courage-eschewing, compromise-making, backbone-lacking deadwood so that the sewerage that holds control of the White House, Senate and Congress can be flushed out.

Fight the Power!

As always, the mix is timed to fit on a standard CD-R and includes home-fist-raised covers. PW in comments. And feel free to comment, even Trump supporters who provided us with some good laughs in the comments to the last mix.

1. Eddie Floyd – People, Get It Together (1969)
2. Segments Of Time – Song To The System (1972)
3. Marlena Shaw – Woman Of The Ghetto (1969)
4. The Staple Singers – This Old Town (People In This Town) (1971)
5. Brothers Unlimited – A Change Is Gonna Come (1970)
6. The Four Tops – Right On Brother (1974)
7. Funkadelic – If You Don’t Like The Effects, Don’t Produce The Cause (1972)
8. Candi Staton – Clean Up America (1974)
9. Lyn Collins – People Make The World A Better Place (1975)
10. Change Of Pace – People (1971)
11. The Dells – Freedom Means (1971)
12. Bama The Village Poet – Welfare Slave (1972)
13. Lim Taylor – The World’s In A Bad Situation (1974)
14. Johnny Taylor – I Am Somebody (1970)
15. Brother To Brother – Hey, What’s That You Say (1974)
16. Gil Scott-Heron – Whitey On The Moon (1974)
17. Stevie Wonder – You Haven”t Done Nothin’ (1974)
18. Marvin Gaye – What’s Going On (live) (1973)
19. Curtis Mayfield – Miss Black America (1970)
20. Sounds Of The City Experience – Babylon (1976)
Bonus Track: The Honey Drippers – Impeach The President (1973)


Any Major Soul: 1960s
Any Major Soul: 1970s
Covered With Soul
Mix CD-R

Categories: 60s soul, 70s Soul, Mix CD-Rs Tags:
  1. halfhearteddude
    April 6th, 2017 at 07:27 | #1

    PW = amdwhah

  2. Brad
    April 7th, 2017 at 12:23 | #2

    While I’m unfamiliar with most of this mix, after reading your dissertation on the sad state of my government, I feel compelled to give this a spin in the cd player. I appreciate anything that’ll keep me from listening to the news and letting me know that there are still other rational voices out there. Please keep ’em coming for at least the next four years. Besides, I haven’t heard “Whitey On The Moon” in decades. Thanks.

  3. RiffRaffRaves
    October 6th, 2018 at 23:57 | #3

    Playlist looks wonderful but the link goes to a rapidgator page that just loops and never gets to the download. Any chance of a fix, as you have kindly done for me in the past ? Many thanks.

  4. halfhearteddude
    October 7th, 2018 at 09:48 | #4


    On all such links, just remove the stuff in the URL after: ?referer=

    I really do’;t know why the links open that way.

  5. RiffRaffRaves
    October 11th, 2018 at 13:36 | #5

    Thanks so much – that has fixed it. I look forward to listening , and I like the look of your new Women compilation. Thanks for all the great postings.

  6. russell mercado
    June 3rd, 2020 at 22:25 | #6

    password doesn’t work

  7. halfhearteddude
    June 3rd, 2020 at 22:53 | #7

    I checked it, and it works for me: amdwhah

  8. russell mercado
    June 3rd, 2020 at 23:04 | #8

    thanks. but it still doesn’t work for me. I copied and pasted and the file wont open. I’ll try to DL again as the problem is probably on my end. either way it looks like a great DL. thanks for it.

  9. halfhearteddude
    June 4th, 2020 at 22:33 | #9

    I suspect you might have a corrupt download. But I’ve uploaded the mix for you without password. I don’t know how long before RG deletes it, but I hope it works.


  1. No trackbacks yet.